Travel Guide Books New Zealand

Travel Guide Book New Zealand - What to read before you go

 
BEST FOR THOSE TRAVELLING WITH A TOUR GROUP

New Zealand is a land of contrasts: a place of wide-open spaces, magnificent Alpine scenery and lush pastures. Visitors flock here to sample world-class wines, experience extreme adventure activities, tour ‘Middle-earth’, and enjoy the Kiwi friendliness the country is famous for. New Zealand is the top overseas destination for Aussie travellers.

Travelling to New Zealand? Here are our recommended travel guidebooks & maps to help you get the most of your adventure.

Best for first-time travellers to New Zealand

Rough Guide to New Zealand
Rough Guide to New Zealand

This guidebook is packed with detailed information, crystal-clear maps and stunning full-colour photographs. There's insightful coverage on the country's iconic landmarks right through to secluded hot pools and how to pick the best cafés in Wellington, plus expert guidance on everything from Maori culture to multi-day hikes. Author picks and insider tips give you the scoop on the best accommodation for every budget, how to track down Marlborough's tastiest Sauvignon Blancs and where the most delectable Maori hangi can be found.

Highlights:

  • Full coverage of the country
  • List of things not to miss
  • Insightful features on Maori culture, history, landcapes and wildlife, and more

View Book
9781101879887 - Travel Guide Books New Zealand
Fodor's Essential New Zealand

This full-colour travel guide has everything you need to ensure you make the most of your time in New Zealand. It includes dozens of full-colour maps plus a handy pull-out map with essential information; multiple itineraries to explore the top attractions and what’s off the beaten path; and hundreds of hotel and restaurant recommendations.

Highlights:

  • In-depth feature on national parks
  • Information on sailing
  • Feature on birding
  • Where to find the best wine tours
  • Insight into Maori art

View Book

Best for travellers on a tour group

Best for road trippers

Lonely Planet New Zealand's Best Trips
Lonely Planet New Zealand's Best Trips

If you’re planning on doing a road trip around New Zealand and you want to ensure you cover the best routes, this is the guidebook for you. This book features more than 30 amazing road trips, plus up-to-date advice on the destinations you’ll visit along the way, supplemented with gorgeous colour photographs. The full-colour maps are clear and easy to follow. Covers: Marlborough, Bay of Islands, Akaroa, West Coast, Central Plateau, Milford Sound, Waiheke Island, Kaikoura, Mackenzie Country, Waitomo Caves, Canterbury, Rotorua, Wellington, Auckland, Christchurch, Queenstown and more.

Highlights:

  • 2-day escapes to two-week-long adventures
  • Itineraries and planning advice to pick the right tailored routes for your needs and interests
  • Insider tips to get around like a local, avoid trouble spots and be safe on the road
  • Essential info at your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, prices
  • Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss
  • Useful features - including Detours, Walking Tours and Link Your Trip

View Book

Best for ‘Middle Earth’ fans

img hobbit 1 747×800 - Travel Guide Books New Zealand
Hobbit Motion Picture Trilogy Location Guidebook

Perfect for fans of The Hobbit movie trilogy, this full-colour guidebook showcases the principal movie set locations around New Zealand. It provides stunning original landscape photography, valuable background information and exclusive contributions by Sir Peter Jackson, Andy Serkis and other cast and crew members. Official behind-the-scenes movie photos are complemented by more than 100 of award-winning photographer Ian Brodie's gorgeous vistas of the New Zealand landscape, making this the perfect book for film fans and armchair travellers, as well as those planning to visit the country for themselves.

Highlights:

  • Exclusive maps and location directions
  • Touring information and itineraries
  • Useful internet addresses
  • GPS references to location sites
  • Accommodation, food and entertainment suggestions

View Book

Best for bar-hoppers

9780947503413 - Travel Guide Books New Zealand
Brewed : A Guide to the Beer of New Zealand

There has been an explosion of interest in New Zealand craft beer, and their brewing industry is growing dramatically. In this guidebook, author Jules van Costello profiles 166 breweries, including 45 that have opened in the last two years. It also has tasting notes for over 450 different beers, a style guide, as well as all the additional information needed to make the increasingly complicated world of New Zealand craft beer simpler and easier to comprehend.

Highlights:

  • A brief history of beer in New Zealand
  • The state of beer in New Zealand today
  • How beer is made and what goes into it
  • Beer festivals in New Zealand
  • 166 brewery profiles, including what makes them good and where you can find them
  • Helpful tasting descriptions of the different beers

View Book

Best for hikers

A Walking Guide To New Zealand's Long Trail: Te Araroa
A Walking Guide To New Zealand's Long Trail: Te Araroa

This is the guidebook of Te Araroa Trail: The Long Pathway, a continuous trail running from Cape Reinga to Bluff, 35 years in the making, which officially opened in late 2011. The book maps the 3000-kilometre trail in 40-kilometre sections, with stunning three dimensional maps. Author Geoff Chapple complements the maps with a running commentary describing the landscape, the flora and fauna encountered along the way, as well as the special features of particular parts of the trail. Photographs of the trail illustrate each section.

Highlights:

  • A short history of the trail
  • Information on hiking the trail
  • Full descriptions of each walk, including walking time, distance, level of difficulty
  • Amazing three dimensional maps

View Book
Lonely Planet Hiking & Tramping in New Zealand
Lonely Planet Hiking & Tramping in New Zealand

This is perfect guidebook for those seeking to hike one or more of New Zealand’s stunning walking tracks. It follows the same format of Lonely Planet’s general guidebooks, with separate chapters for each area of the country and full details of the walks within those areas. Each chapter begins with basic information, include why go, when to go, background reading, and important contact details and websites. Information on how to get to the walk and where to stay are also included.

Highlights:

  • Planning features and top itineraries to help you plan the perfect trip
  • Local secrets and hidden travel gems that will make your trip unique
  • A bird spotter’s guide, packing checklist, and information on gateway towns and cities.
  • Clear and detailed maps

View Book